Thursday, June 10, 2010

DeKalb Co. Political Leaders Endorse Roy Barnes for Governor

Presser from the Barnes Campaign

Several prominent DeKalb County political leaders will endorse Roy Barnes’ election efforts today during a 10:00 a.m. press conference at the DeKalb County Old Courthouse in Decatur.

Over two dozen DeKalb County elected officials have joined the effort to elect Barnes in the July 20 primary election.

“Roy has the knowledge and experience to help the people of DeKalb County,” said State Senator Gloria Butler. “We’re counting on him to clean up the mess under the Gold Dome—and I know he can do it.”

“It’s time to end business as usual in Georgia,” said DeKalb County Commissioner Jeff Rader. “On day one, Roy will be ready to tackle the employment, education, and transportation problems that are plaguing our state and our county.”

DeKalb County Solicitor General Robert James said he was supporting Barnes because of the former Governor’s long record of standing up for Georgians. “Georgia is in a critical place in terms of education, job losses, the economy, transportation, and more. We need leadership at the top that will steer our state in a bold new direction, and I believe that Roy Barnes is the best person for that job,” remarked James.

“Roy has a superb record of accomplishments in all areas of government, with an emphasis on education, transportation and economic development,” said former DeKalb County CEO Liane Levetan. “I trust Roy to make a difference for DeKalb County.”

DeKalb County District Attorney Gwen Keyes Fleming
DeKalb County Solicitor General Robert James

State Senator Gloria Butler
State Senator Steve Henson
State Senator Ron Ramsey

State Representative Simone Bell
State Representative Stephanie Stuckey Benfield
State Representative Karla Drenner
State Representative Michele Henson
State Representative Rahn Mayo
State Representative Earnest “Coach” Williams

DeKalb County Commissioner Lee May
DeKalb County Commissioner Jeff Rader
DeKalb County Commissioner Connie Stokes
DeKalb County Commissioner Sharon Barnes Sutton

DeKalb County School Board Member Jay Cunningham, Jr.
DeKalb County School Board Member Eugene P. Walker
DeKalb County School Board Member Zepora Roberts
DeKalb County School Board Member Sarah Copelin-Wood

City of Decatur School Board Chair Valarie Wilson
City of Decatur School Board Vice Chair Marc Wisniewski
City of Decatur School Board Member John Ahmann
City of Decatur School Board Member Bernadette Seals

Lithonia City Councilwoman Doreen Carter
Clarkston City Councilman Emanuel Ransom
Former DeKalb County CEO Liane Levetan
Former City of Decatur Mayor Elizabeth Wilson

No comments:

This is a Rural Blog that provides views & insights from a Conservative Georgia Democrat

Blog Archive