Friday, January 14, 2011

One last look at the DPG Elections

In two weeks, the Georgia Democratic Party will hold its elections that will usher in brand new leadership from the top down.

Asterik indicates the favorite to win:


Mike Berlon (Gwinnett County)*
Darryl Hicks (Fayette County) Fayetteville

Berlon is the odds-on favorite to become the next leader of the DPG. He has all of the necessary bog-wigs behind him in his effort to win the post on Jan 29, but don't count out D. Hicks just yet

First Vice Chair:

Wendy Davis (Floyd County) Rome*
Amy Morton (Bibb County) Macon
Nikema Williams (Fulton County) Fairburn

This race is hard to gauge with three strong top-tier candidates vying for the No 2 spot at the DPG. All are seasoned veterans of the Ga Political Landscape. Morton is chair of Georgia's WIN List, State Committee Member, & one of the most influential democratic activist in the state.

Williams is Director of Public Policy at Planned Parenthood Southeast Volunteer at Democrats Work, former Political Director Young Democrats Of Georgia

Davis is Strategist at VocalFi Associate at , Campaign Manager at David Poythress for Governor of Georgia 2010 ,National Field and Training Director at 21st Century Democrats ,Southern States Political Director at Bill Richardson for President.

Vice Chair of County Parties:

Will Fowlkes (Cobb County) Kennesaw*
RJ Hadley (Rockdale County) Conyers
Chris Sloan (Troup County) LaGrange

Another race that is hard to figure out as Hadley, Fowlkes & Sloan all battle it out for the position of Chair of County Parties. This position is critical for the party if it wants to compete with the Ga GOP in terms of grassroots organization on the local level, etc.

Fowlkes is Cobb County Democratic Party - Chair (2008 - 2010); Treasurer (2008); House District Captain for HD35 (2006-2008); Cobb Democrat of the Year (2008, Georgia Association of Democratic County Chairs - Congressional Director (2008 - 2010); 2010 President's Award recipientDemocratic Party of Georgia - Candidate, Vice-Chair of Congressional District Chairs and County Liaison (present); State Convention County Delegation Chair (2010); State Convention Delegate (2010); "Voice of God", State Convention (2010); State Committee (2008 - present); "Voice of God", annual Jefferson-Jackson Dinner (2007, 2008, 2009, 2010);Technology Committee member; Delegate Selection Committee memberDemocratic National Committee - Elected Pledged Delegate, Democratic National Convention (2008)

Sloan is Chair of the Troup County Democratic Party

Hadley is is a Democratic Party activist and former candidate for United States Senate. He was a delegate to the 2008 Democratic National Convention He has been a member of the Rockdale County Democratic Party since 2006 and was elected to its executive board in 2010.

Vice Chair of Candidate Recruitment:

Lauren Benedict (Bibb County) Macon*
Miguel Camacho (Chatham County) Savannah
Rep. Winfred Dukes (I) (Dougherty County) Albany

Two newbies are challenging Dukes for the spot of candidate recruitment. Benedict is member of the Macon City Council & former candidate of HD 140, Camacho is the Chairman of Candidate Recruitment for Chatham County, one of only two County's in Georgia than ran a Democratic challenger against every Republican incumbent in the Georgia State Assembly who's district includes Chatham County. Chatham County received the 2010 Georgia Association of Democratic County Chair's President Award for outstanding and meritorious service for our recruiting efforts.

Dukes is a State Rep representing Albany

Vice Chair of Constituency Groups:

Rep. Pedro "Pete" Marin (I)


Laverne Gaskins (I)


Russell Edwards (Clarke County) Athens
Sen. Lester Jackson (Chatham County) Savannah

Edwards is a demcoratic activist who ran a spirited campaign against arch-conservative Paul Broun. Jackson is a rising star in Georgia Politics, serving as State Senator of Savannah

1st Congressional District Chair:

Jeana Brown (Wayne County) McKinnon
Will Claiborne (Chathan County) Savannah

Brown is the founder of Rural Activist Group Team Rural, Regional Field Director · Aug 2010 to Nov 2010 · Winter Haven, Florida, SEIU Change that Works, Field Organizer · Jun 2009 to Sep 2009 · Helena, Arkansas, Issue-based campaign lobbying for Employee Free Choice and Health & Campaign for Change GA/ Obama for America, Field Organizer · Jun 2008 to Nov 2008 · Jesup, Georgia. Organized the Jesup Georgia Presidential Campaign Office for 10 SE GA counties during the General Election 2008.

Claiborne is past Associate Attorney at McCorkle & Johnson, LLP, Staff Assistant, Legislative Correspondent, and Deputy Press Secretary at U.S. Senator Zell Miller. Now is the council at Counsel Attorney at Claiborne, Outman, Surmay P.C.

2nd Congressional District Chair:

Jeanne Dugas (Muscogee County) Columbus
Keith McCants (Macon County) Oglethorpe

Dugas is former chair of the Muscogee County Democratic Party, current Vice-Chair of Muscogee County Dems, retired Professor of Psychology at Columbus State University & currently Vice-President and Co-Owner e_Valuation, Inc.

McCants is founder & operator of Peanut Politics & past Vice-Chairman of Macon County Democratic Party, rural strategist Currently works a a welder. Dugas maybe the favorite in this race sue to her work as past chair of Muscogee County Dems, but watch out for the conservative outsider McCants in this race.

3rd Congressional District Chair:
Ken Spitze (Carroll County)

4th Congressional District Chair:
Linda Edmonds (I) (Dekalb County)

5th Congressional District Chair:

Kip Carr* (Fulton Co)
William Curry (I) (Fulton Co)

6th Congressional District Chair:

Ben Myers (I) (North Fulton County)

7th Congressional District Chair:

Steve Reilly (Gwinnett County)

8th Congressional District Chair:

Stephanie Woods Miller (Jones County) Gray

9th Congressional District Chair:

David Robinson (Pickens County)

10th Congressional District Chair:

Patsy Harris (Morgan County)

11th Congressional District Chair:

Mary Caldwell (Floyd County)*
Wendy Davis (Floyd County)
JM Prince (Bartow County)
Don Wilson (Cobb County)

If Davis becomes the Vice-Chair of the DPG, its Mary Caldwell's race to lose. Caldwell is chair of the Floyd County Democratic Party.

12th Congressional District Chair:

R. Lee Webster (Burke County) Waynesboro*
Liz Johnson (Bullock County) Statesboro

13th Congressional District:


No comments:

This is a Rural Blog that provides views & insights from a Conservative Georgia Democrat

Blog Archive